Murrisk is a beautiful village that nestles at the foot of Croagh Patrick on the shores of Clew Bay.
The name Murrisk originated from either 'Muir-Riasc' meaning a marsh, by the sea or 'Muir-Iasc' meaning sea monster whom the Pagan God used to worship. It has a wealth of natural amenities which can be grouped as the Mountains, Sea, Beaches and Sea Angling.
Interesting walks in Murrisk include starting at the Augustinian Abbey along the shore towards the pier. The picturesque ruins of the Augustinian Abbey stand in the shadow of Croagh Patrick. There is a great deal of piety, heroism, poetry and drama enshrined in the history of the Abbey. It is no wonder the ruins have been declared a National monument. The Abbey was founded in 1457 when a letter from Pope Callistus III gave permission to an Augustinian Hugh O'Malley of Banada Friary, County Sligo to establish a Church and Priory at Murrisk on land donated by Thady O'Malley who is described as a chieftain of that area.
The east window behind the altar is the finest architectural feature in the ruins, it has five trefoil pointed lights surmounted by interconnecting bar tracery and according to DR H Leask, the Irish authority on Church Building, 'is perhaps the best window of its type in the West of Ireland'.
Bertra Beach is a blue flag beach and is another beautiful walk. On the last Sunday of July the annual Pilgrimage to Croagh Patrick takes place, starting in Murrisk. After that on the last Sunday of August, the well known pattern and Heritage Day takes place. In recent years it has been revived once again.
Select another location in Mayo: