Just 9.5km (6 miles) from Limerick, on the banks of the River Shannon, lies the picturesque town of Castleconnell. An enjoyable place to visit, with fine restaurants, shops and river walks to explore, Castleconnell is also a popular angling resort - of international acclaim. It is a resting ground for salmon during the spawning season.
Remnants of Castleconnell's glorious past may be viewed in and around the town. Situated on a rock overlooking the river are the remains of the deBurgo castle, which was destroyed by the Willamite General Ginkel in 1691. Before the Burkes, the O' Conaings were lords of the place - hence the name Castleconnell (Caislean Ui Chonaing).
In the 18th and 19th centuries, the medicinal spa well at Castleconnell made it a popular holiday resort for Limerick people. These healing spa waters, combined with its proximity to the spectacular falls of Doonass, not to mention its reputation for salmon angling, attracted huge numbers of holidaymakers every year. As a result of this, Castleconnell soon became a thriving, and wealthy town. The celebrated Irish writer, Frank O' Connor, captures the scene at that time, when he writes:
"…its arcaded assembly rooms, its charming inn, its rows of demure little villas…". These old attractive villas may still be seen.
As Castleconnell is on the main line railway network, for those either not travelling by car, or who wish to take a break from the road, the village is easy to get to.
Select another location in Limerick: