This is a charming village with a tree-lined square, lying in a pretty part of the Nore valley where the river winds between wooded banks flanked by hills.
An Augustinian priory was founded here in 1210 by Thomas Fitzgerald, and the nave, tower and adjoining Lady Chapel remain. Some monuments of the Tighe family are in the tower, including an effigy by Flaxman of Mrs Mary Tighe (died 1810), the authoress of Psyche.
On a rock above the river at the village are the remains of a Norman motte-and-bailey castle.
Select another location in Kilkenny: