The older mill buildings date from the 17th Century, when a woollen manufacturing industry was established in this pleasant rural area near the MacGillycuddy Reeks. The nearby river was harnessed to drive a wooden water turbine. This was replaced in 1928 by a steel unit, which still provides 50 horse power for part of today's requirements. The excellent quality soft water is used for washing and dyeing the cloth. The full range of woollen manufacturing processes has been carried out in this location from early times to present day.
The older buildings have recently been refurbished to provide better facilities for visitors. Tours of the mill production are available at certain times, (advance booking advisable). A wide range of information on the processes are available.
Visitors are invited to visit the mill shop, which stocks a unique range of fine quality woollen goods, and other Irish made crafts. Round off the visit by enjoying a delicious homemade snack in the tea-room.