Visitors should not miss Malin Head. It is not just Ireland's most northerly point, but an area of great scenic beauty and of historical, scientific and ecological importance. The circuit of the Head will take you past the Radio Station, built in 1910, and round the coast to Banba's Crown, the northern tip of Ireland. Here a tall derelict building known locally as 'The Tower' was built in 1805 by the Admiralty, and later used as a Lloyds Signal Station. During the second world war, the small huts were built and used by our defence forces to keep a lookout and protect our neutrality. It is also a perfect starting point for a ramble along the cliffs to Hell's Hole, a remarkable subterranean cavern 250 feet long and 8 feet wide, into which the tide rushes with great force. Nearby is a picturesque natural arch called the Devil's Bridge.
To the north-east can be seen Inistrahull Island. Its first lighthouse was put into operation in 1813, and its light flashes every 30 seconds. Further out to the east, on a clear day you can see the Scottish hills.
Below Banba's Crown to the east lies Ballyhillion beach, a unique raised beach system of internationl scientific importance. The very distinct shorelines show quite dramatically the changing relationship between the sea and the land from the time the glaciers began to melt, some 15,000 years ago. At that time Donegal was depressed by the weight of an immense ice sheet, so the level of the sea was up to 80 feet higher than today.
The beach is also noted for its semi-precious stones, such as cornelian, chalcedony, jasper, serpentine, agate, etc., all of which can be polished and set into jewellery.
The route passes the Meteorological Station built in 1955.
A detour to explore the Wee house of Malin will reveal that the 'wee' house is in fact a cave in the hillside and is said to be the home of St. Muirdealach. Legend has it that no matter how many people entered this cave it always had room for more.
Beside are the remains of an old church which according to tradition was built by St. Muirdealach. Built of split stone rubble and some boulders, only the N.E. and S. walls now survive.
Select another location in Donegal: